Trip Planner

On the small side, so it won’t work for hikers who need a spacious pack. Because it’s basically a single compartment stuff bag, I did have to make sure the items inside were ozark trail backpack distributed properly. I have used the hydration compartment for items like my iPad. By default, this unexpectedly ended up being my go-to daily bag for several months.

More than once in the dark I’ve attached a rain fly upside down and we had to restart that particular step. This tent was close to foolproof when it came to the rain fly because it was already connected. While the Ozark Trail doesn’t run directly through any towns, hikers may access options for resupply and services along the way, including the locales below. Please be aware that we make an effort to keep this information current.

If things don’t go as planned, you still might have great memories of your time in the wilderness, but with the addition of new learning to apply on your next trip. I’ve shared what I think are important things to remember when preparing for a multi-day ozark trail chair backpacking trip. I’ll update this post as questions reveal other areas to include. On our first 88-mile section of the Ozark Trail, the third toe on my left foot was a problem that reared its ugly head beginning about day four of eight.

It is also hydration compatible and comes with an included 2L reservoir so you can stay hydrated on the trails. This pack fits me fine and is very comfortable for lightweight loads. It’s light enough that I don’t mind putting it in my backpack and it takes up almost no space at all. For day hikes this is just as good as (and lighter than) my Osprey Daylite that retails for almost four times more. The one downside with integrated rain flies is the lack of ventilation and temperature control. We had great weather – not too hot and not too cold – but it did rain for about 5 minutes.

Ultimately, the good design for this product was that it was sized right for what I needed, both in dimensions and weight. Not too small, but not too large (and thus wasteful) – a Goldilocks design. After all, I had to be sensitive to weight as we were required to carry our own water for 10 miles as there were no options for filtering during that stretch.

Be aware, this is a daypack, intended for lighter loads and shorter distances. It isn’t built to be on your back 8 hours a day, and it won’t support 25 pounds. Used for its intended purpose, this is one of the best hiking/backpacking deals I’ve ever come across. Our sister site Alloutdoor.com recently reviewed a hiking backpack sold by Ozark Trail that had an overall stellar performance and it triggered a question among our staff.

It’s hard to guess which kids will take to hiking like a fish to water and which ones will beg off. My kids were toddlers the first time we went backpacking on a short, level trail where I carried everything and I knew they could do the hike with no problem. My four-year-old wanted to know when we could go again but my three-year-old was uninterested in another trip. Now he’s 12 and carries almost the same weight as I do and loves to help me plan trips with 10-mile days. Before heading out on your next hike or other outdoor adventure, make sure to grab the Ozark Trail 14 Liter Hydration Hiking Backpack. This 14L pack is designed for maximum versatility so you can focus on the great outdoors.

I drooled over all the lightweight packs from the major manufacturers for a few years. There’s no way I can justify paying five times more for something that might carry just as well. I plan to pick up another if/when this one wears out.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started